The Classical Association of New South Wales

ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2008

The Classical Association of New South Wales has again completed a very successful year with a programme of public lectures, Schools' Reading Competition, Annual Dinner, publication of *Classicum* and the 15th Latin Summer School. A strong, membership has been maintained together with a healthy financial state.

Officers and Council

The following were elected unopposed as office bearers at the AGM held on 4 March 2008 at Sydney Grammar School:

President Mr Roger Pitcher
Hon. Secretary Mr Ian McLeod
Treasurer Mr Andrew Miles

The following members agreed to continue serving on CA Council for 2008:

Mr David Allen, Professor Alanna Nobbs, Assoc. Professor Dexter Hoyos, Miss Frances Muecke, Dr Ian Plant, Mr Paul Reisner, Mr John Sheldon, Mr Michael Smee, Dr Kathryn Welch, Mr Roderick West, Professor Peter Wilson, Mrs Katherine Jolley.

We were also pleased to welcome to Council during the year Mr Anthony Alexander. David Allen (representing Gaius Gracchus Society) retired from Council during the year. Katherine Jolley (Business Manager of *Classicum*) resigned from Council in December 2008.

The year's activities

First Lecture :

4 March 2008

Following the AGM, Dr Trevor Evans of Macquarie University gave a paper on :

The Linguistic Significance of the Greek and Latin Papyri

The 18th Todd Memorial Lecture

29 May 2008

The lecturer on this occasion was Professor Emeritus Julia Haig Gaisser (Bryn Mawr):

Apuleius' Golden Ass

It was agreed that this lecture be printed and distributed to members in due course. The cost of travel and accommodation for Professor Gaisser was borne by the Latin Summer School.

Schools Reading Competition

(a) The **Preliminary Round** was held on 6 June 2008 at Sydney University with 100 students and 12 schools participating (2 more schools than the previous year):

1	1 0	1 2 /	
Ascham	(Mrs S. Hummel)	Sydney Boys' High	(Mrs C. Werner)
North Sydney Girls'	(Mrs P. Gemmell)	Sydney Grammar	(Mr R. Pitcher)
St Aloysius College	(Ms L. Aronson)	SCECGS Redlands	(Mr A. Miles)
Sydney Girls' High	(Mrs D. Healey)	Ravenswood	(Mrs D. Reading)
Redfield College	(Mr M. Fitzgerald)	Scots	(Dr R. Kowalski)
Queenwood	(Mrs J. Hoyos)	Pymble Ladies College	(Mrs E. Matters,
	-	Mc M Brunning	& Mr M Brown

Ms M. Brunning & Mr M. Brown)

Pymble Ladies College

The judges commented very favourably on the high standard of reading both in Latin and Greek

(b) The **Reading Finals**, held at Sydney Grammar School on 29 July 2008, resulted in:

Year 10 Latin	1st	Bei Ge	Sydney Girls' High School
	2nd	Jasmine Logaraj	Pymble Ladies College
Year 10 Latin Choral Reading		Kevin Lee Memorial Trophy	Pymble Ladies College
Greek	1st	Branden Chan	Sydney Grammar School
	2nd	Sashini Walpola	Pymble Ladies College
Year 11 Latin			
	1st	Vaishnavi Suryaprakash	Sydney Girls' High School

Julienne Orcullo

2nd

The Classical Association is most grateful to the judges who cheerfully took on the difficult task of judging this competition:

Mr Anthony Alexander, Dr Paul Roche (Latin). Rev'd Dr. Greg Fox and Mr John Sheldon (Greek) (Preliminary) Miss Frances Muecke, Prof. Alanna Nobbs (Latin), Prof. Alanna Nobbs and Professor Peter Wilson (Greek) (Finals)

Ass.. Prof. Jeff Tatum gave a lecture on *Cicero & the Roman Sense of Humour* on the Preliminary Day of the Reading Competition.

Our thanks go also to Sydney Grammar School for providing the venue and to Abbeys Bookshop for donating the prizes and to Mrs Libby Jones for assistance with catering.

The Council is looking at ways of involving more schools in the Reading Competition.

Third Lecture: 14 August 2008

This marked the occasion of the first **William Ritchie Memorial Lecture** sponsored by the University of Sydney and held in the MacLaurin Hall. It was delivered by Professor Oliver Taplin of Magdalen College, The University of Oxford, on the subject:

Tragic life-journeys and real-life journeys: the place where three ways meet

Annual Dinner: 17 October 2008

The Annual Dinner was held at Pellegrini's Restaurant, Balmain and was attended by 32 members and friends. The Guest of Honour was Em. Prof. Edwin Judge who proposed the Toast to the Classics.

Fifteenth Latin Summer School 19 - 23 January 2009

The very successful five-day Summer School was attended by 225 students covering a wide range of ages and abilities with a significant number coming from regional N.S.W., and interstate. There were 25 tutors (schoolteachers, university lecturers, and postgraduate students) who taught at five different levels from beginners to postgraduates. Guest lecturers included Justice Michael Kirby (who addressed a packed General Lecture Theatre), Em Prof. Edwin Judge, Mr Andrew Miles, Mr Desmond Cahill, Mr James Uden (who returned from Columbia, N.Y. to take a class, give a lecture and take a Special Series) and Dr Paul Burton of A.N.U.. A detailed report and financial statement of the Latin Summer School will be tabled at the AGM.

Membership

There are currently 147 members of the Classical Association, including three societies and two honorary life member (Brother Michael McNaughtin and Miss Beryl Ferris). There are 10 members in arrears. At this year's Latin Summer School we invited membership of the CA at the special rate of \$10 for the first year and so far we have enlisted 8 new members. The annual subscription was raised to \$25 at the December Council meeting.

Classicum

As usual two editions of the CA/CLTA Journal *Classicum* were produced during 2008 and we express our gratitude to the Editor, Dr Ian Plant, the Reviews Editor, Dr Trevor Evans and the Business Manager, Mrs Katherine Jolley, for their work on this excellent publication. The Editor has submitted a report on *Classicum* to the AGM.

The Web site www.classics.org.au

This continues to be a great success and has been widely used by members and non-members alike. It has four separate pages (CA, CLTA, LSS and *Classicum*) and is financed by contributions from all four. We are indebted to Ms Kit Morrell for her splendid work as Webmaster.

1 March 2009 Roger Pitcher Ian McLeod President Hon. Secretary